Skip To Main Content

Parent Leadership

Governance Council

VAIS is governed by a council of parents, staff and community members. This group makes high-level decisions concerning the day-to-day operations of VAIS. Functions of the Governance Council include, but are not limited to, budget allocations, capital expenditures, grant proposals, personnel, curriculum, assessments, VAIS policies and procedures, committee responsibilities, goals and future of VAIS. Current Governance Council members include:

Teresa Mueller, Parent Representative 

James Kokalj, President

Grace Flores, Secretary

Darlene Berkovitz, Treasurer

Charles James, Community Member

Patty Arifin, Parent Representative 

Brandon Braithwaite, Parent Representative 

Evan Henderson, New Parent Representative 

Kelly Gibson, Parent Representative

Steve Kean, Parent Representative

Joanne Mueller, Parent Representative

Yingying Reiter, VAIS Staff

Sarah Shaw, VAIS Staff

Sally Parks, VAIS Staff, Director

The Governance Council generally meets on the 2nd Monday of the month at 6:30 p.m. Meetings are open to the public.